GitHub app permissions can only be set once and for all users. 

We have separated backup and restore into two apps to be able to limit permission to the minimum required to perform the task. The backup app only requires read permissions, while the restore app needs writing permissions to your account. 

That way you need to allow writing permissions only when performing a restore and can remove them when finished.

Learn how to restore a repository

Did this answer your question?